Altered Journal Program for adults

I will be conducting an Altered Journal program for adults at the Lacombe Branch of the St. Tammany Parish Library on August 12th @ 6pm. In this workshop we will discuss different types of journaling and I will bring lot of examples from my own altered journals and books that you can look at and touch. Then you will get started on your own journal. I will answer question, advise on technique and do my best to inspire you in this rewarding creative endeavor. This class is perfect for beginners as well as diary keepers, doodlers, and even people who may think they are not very creative. This is a fun and easy way to stretch your artistic muscles.

Space is limited – so you must call the library and reserve your seat. All participants must bring their own supplies.

A journal (blank or lined)

A glue stick or doubled sided tape

Colored pens

Old magazines to cut up

Anything along the lines of photos or remembrances that will easily lay flat

Scissors

Who Inspires You

Who Inspires You

David Mack is an artist that I very much admire. If you look closely to the image on the left ( a page from one of his comic books) you can see how he uses lots of different layers and textures in his work. That is something that I try to do in my journals (see my page on the right).

2 Responses

  1. This is awesome. I did this as a kid, inspired by this series of journals featuring a little girl. I absolutely cannot remember what it was called, but I’ve been thinking about it lately so it’s sort of strange that I came across this. I’m still an avid journaler, though I don’t make such complicated images. This is inspiring me, however, so perhaps I will.

  2. How cool is that! I’m going to be there tomorrow night! I was just looking up some examples of altered journals and found your site! Can’t wait to do this!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

