Screen Printing Adventure

Tuesdays nights is open night at the Louisiana Art Works Community Print Shop in New Orleans. I’ve never tackled screen printing before and other then a vague idea of the motions, I wasn’t really sure what to expect.

It was fun. The studio was freezing, and busy with a lot of others who were new to screen printing as well. We were shown how to clean screens, apply the photo sensitive emulation, burn the screen, and then actually print.

There was a lot of hurry up an wait, but this is definitely something I want to try again. There was a lot of nervousness since this was the first time. I didn’t know what to expect from the location, I wasn’t sure I had the right supplies (the website supply list is a little sketchy), and I was hesitant with my first print.

I used the entire pack of paper I’d brought with me! The design I printed is a mask I drew the night before while watch Olympic Ice Dancing. I cleaned it up a little on the computer and made sure it printed out super black on a transparency.  I really like the way it turned out. When I got home (at midnight), I immediately framed it.  I am looking forward to trying this again.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

