Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1) Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

While overall this book was an enjoyable one, I couldn’t shake the feeling that is was also a little weird. This could possible be due to the fact that there are somethings written in romance novels that are okay on the page but sound kind of hokey spoken aloud. Not to knock the reader, who did have a good voice, but somethings just aren’t meant for audio. (I’m not specifically addressing the sex here, though there is that, but there were many other moments.) There were some really great lines too! Some odd obsession with peaches. An unexplained aversion to steel.

I picked this book because many of my coworkers LOVE the series. Our tastes usually run pretty close. I think that maybe I’m just tired of vampires. I am not sure I’ll pick up book two, but I think that I will continue to recommend the books based on my coworkers love for them and the fact that I didn’t hate it.

Leave a Reply

