White Noise…

Caught the matinee of White Noise at Le Petit Theatre in the French Quarter. Le Petit is the oldest community theater in America. I’ve seen several very good plays today, so my expectations were high.

White Noise was okay. I am glad I went in the sense that, if we want Broadway quality theater in New Orleans we have to support what we get.

The musical tackles racial issues, but some of the characters seem to lack direction or maybe development.  The individual beats/songs were good (there was a hilarious bit where the choreography seemed to be lifted from Seven Brides for Seven Brothers), but I just wasn’t thrilled by show as a whole. There seemed to be something missing. The actress who played Mama had a really good voice.

My friends compared it to a movie called American History X, which I will have to rent. It was an pleasant afternoon, and I had a really decent lunch at Landry’s.

I guess I just really expect more, after reading all the rave reviews. Expectations…

Leave a Reply

