Sunshine on Audio

Sunshine Sunshine by Robin McKinley

At first I was a little leery about the reader on this audio book, but I eventually settled into it. I loved the way the book was written. I enjoyed the language as much the story. The word choice, world building, and quotable passages where awesome. I like that there was a creep factor in this — the slow unraveling a woman’s life. I like that the way it ends not just the climax of the action, but the personal resolve. This sort of hell-in-hand-basket, but choosing to make do feeling that suffuses the ending. I love all the colorful secondary characters. I’ve owned this book for years. I listened to friends tell me how good it was. I trust McKinley to tell a good story, but I just put it off. I am glad to have finally listened to it, and I may go back and read it just for the passages I want to copy out in my commonplace book.

Leave a Reply

