Book Reviews

Mark of the Demon Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a wonderful read. I’ve just finished it about 15 mins ago and am manic with the high that good book gives you. Diana gave me a copy nearly two month ago and I’ve been reading very slowly. My dyslexia — nothing to do with the book.  There were so many great laugh out loud bits — the brick of cheese, Fraggle Rock, Klingon (slightly weirded out that Klingon is in my spell check) promotions. There’s a good deal of tension and suspense. It’s a serial killer case after all. The liberal dash of pop culture references to may you relish your inner geek. Kara, Tessa, Ryan, and a couple others are characters I’d like to see again. I know I’m not making a hell of a lot of sense, but you’ve got to read the book. I’ve been getting burnt out on Urban Fantasy of late, but this one was refreshing. Diana will delight you with her wit and keep you turning pages to see how it ends. Oh and it is going to a series. Really looking forward to book two.

Roping the Wind (Cheek) Roping the Wind by Kate Pearce
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I haven’t read a contemporary romance that I’ve truly enjoyed in a while. This was fan yourself hot, had characters you could buy into, and realistic HEA that sort of just pointed the way. It was a quick read (comparatively speaking — I’m a slow reader). I would be interested in seeing what else Kate Pearce has to offer after this title.



Woken Furies (Takeshi Kovacs, #3) Woken Furies by Richard K. Morgan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ll probably say the same thing here that I’ve said about the first two book in this series. I LOVE the world building. It is gritty and violent, but you want to know what is happening around every corner. I listened to this on on audio and my only complaint is, unless I’m mistaken, they’ve changed the pronunciation of the main character’s last name from the first two audio books. Kovacs is a bastard but he’s still the good guy. It this finally installment lots of pieces fall into place. We met people we’ve only heard about. We learn slightly more about Kovacs, but never truly enough to satisfy. And when it is over we can only mourn the fact that it is the last book and we are shut out from any new adventures in that world.

One Response

  1. I’m not positive, I can’t prove it, but there is a demon in Richard’s new fantasy “The Steel Remains” whose name is Takavac. (Takeshi Kovacs???). There are a few statements that Takavac says that makes you think hmm…this just might be Takeshi a few million years from now. If so, we might not have heard the last of Kovacs.

Leave a Reply

