Chew

Chew Volume 1: Taster's Choice Chew Volume 1: Taster’s Choice by John Layman and Rob Guillory
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Chew was pointed out to me by the guy who owns the local comic book shop. I think I was sold when he said it was a detective story about a guy who senses the history of everything he eats.  I really like the art in this book. (a gentleman from Louisiana is the artist) It’s comical and gross in places. The story is also fun, if a little confusing at times. Like where did the the bikini clad arctic Russians come from? I mean really what was that all about? I expected a little more from the main character’s ability, but I’m willing to see if that develops. Reading comics is a lot like watching TV, you have to trust that it will work out in the end. I think this earned enough of my trust to be pick up part two. I hope it comes out soon.

Leave a Reply

