Avalon Revisited

Avalon Revisited Avalon Revisited by O. M. Grey

Avalon Revisited is a delightful farce! The whole time I was reading it, I couldn’t help but share bits with whomever was with in earshot. The only fault I could find in this preposterous comedy was that of a zipper, and I’m not even sure you could call it a fault — I just didn’t think they came into common use until after 1920 (though there are whispers of it as far back as 1851). The best I can figure the book is set somewhere around 1852. Doesn’t matter really, I laughed my head off at during that particular scene with chartreuse dress. The whole time I was reading Avalon Revisited I couldn’t help but think of it as some paranormal spoof of a Oscar Wilde-esque play. The Steampunk element was a little light for me — the best use that seemed to serve the plot was a bloodletting device worn by the butler. (Which reminds me of another adorable cliche that I won’t speak about as it will give away part of the ending and this is a must read.) The other novelties mention seemed to be window dressing, but they are nice windows. This is definitely an adult novel as oppose to recent Steampunk fare, like Soulless by Gail Carriger, that would work well with teens.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by bethaniey juine, VampiresKisses Etsy , bethaniey juine, bethaniey juine, Ninja Exorcists and others. Ninja Exorcists said: RT RT @omgrey: New review of Avalon Revisited! http://dld.bz/aGdR #Steampunk #Paranormal #Romance http://dld.bz/aGsn […]

Leave a Reply

