What I’m Reading This Week (May 17th)

This blog post is part of Shelia at Book Journey’s weekly round-up.

Read:

Not All Princesses Dress in Pink by Jane Yolen and Heidi Stemple — this was a cute picture book I found on the library shelf. I really like how it showed girls doing all manner of activity from sports to construction. The text broke down for me a little as I was reading out loud when I got to the bits about the crown, but that was probably because I was trying not to be too loud in the library. I recommended this for story time at work when it becomes widely available on June 15th.

Well I finished reading A Little Harmless Sex by Melissa Schroeder from last weeks list, but not much else.

Still Reading:

Alison’s Wonderland edited Alison Tyler (ARC) – I am still enjoying this. What I like best is that the fairy tale retellings aren’t retelling of the same stories I’ve heard 1000 times. There maybe some later in the book, but the first few have been new to me at least.

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson — This is still meandering. I get the idea that it is probably supposed to move at this labored pace. I’ve made up my mind that I will finish, but I lose patience at times.

Changeless by Gail Carriger — almost makes me want to carry a parasol even at night. I hope to finish this one soon.

Added to this week:

Climbing Your Family Tree by Ira Wolfman — I am designing a summer program for 8 to 11 year-olds for the St. Tammany Parish Library on recording your family history. I am hoping this book will give me lots of good ideas.

And in other news the Nebula’s where announced:

I was pleased to see that I’ve already read this year’s winning novel, The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi. The winner of the novella is already in on my TBR pile, The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker, in a lovely edition by Subterranean Press. I must say I didn’t finish the novelette winner “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast”, Eugie Foster. I downloaded from EscapePod, but never could get through it.

From the Blogs:

Chew & Digest has a Lawrence Goldstone novel on tap for this week. I’ve read several of Goldstone’s and his wife Nancy’s  non-fiction books about books, but I’ve never tried one of his novels. I’m going to have to add Anatomy of Deception to my wish list.

Reading Extensively points out a Sharon Shinn title that slipped past me called Gateway. It has a divine cover ( I know we shouldn’t judge, but some of the art is just beautiful in it’s own right). I’ll probably have to force myself to catch up on my other Shinn novels before I can justify buying a new one.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 Responses

  1. Impressive list of books. I have Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand on my TBR list. I look forward to reading your impression of it. Have a delightful week reading. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/05/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-17-may.html

  2. It’s Monday!

    My What are you reading? is here.

    Happy Monday. I can’t wait to read Changeless. Great books this week! :)

    xx,
    E.J.

  3. I can’t wait to read Changeless. I loved Soulless and I have this one on order through interlibrary loan. Alexia is such a fun character. I hope you are enjoying it.

    Gateway will be the first Sharon Shinn novel that I read but I have heard good things about the other books. I am excited to read it so hopefully I will get to it this week.

    Have a great week!

  4. You have some good looking books going! Alison’s Wonderland is a new title for me but I love it just from what you shared!

    Have a great week :)

  5. These look good! I will definitely be on the lookout for Not All Princesses Wear Pink. I think my 6 y/o would really like it.

  6. Soulless and Changeless sound great! I look forward to checking out Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series. And Not All Princesses Wear Pink sounds like a book my daughters will love. :)

  7. Wow, what a great lineup! Tracing/recording your family tree is such a cool idea, I hope you have fun with the project :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

