Blood Soup by Kelly A. Harmon

Blood SoupBlood Soup by Kelly A. Harmon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“…he found the literature could sometimes take his mind off the pain.”

Now there is a true statement. You can always find them in good fiction. I had wanted to read Blood Soup since I saw it reviewed elsewhere on the web. Its cover look seductively creepy and the synopsis sounded cool so I put the book on my Wish List. I thought wistfully, “One day,” and then to my immense good fortune the author, Kelly A. Harmon, contacted me and I found myself in possession of a review copy. I got started reading right away.

This was a short novella of my favorite sort. I couldn’t see the conclusion from the opening, there was recompense paid at that end, and just enough open-endedness to let the imagination fly.

This novella covers a lot a time, but never feels fractured or too compressed. It also feels like it belongs to a different time. I don’t mean it’s the historical setting. Harmon’s story feels like it belongs to the myth and legend class of stories or maybe just a scary tale told in the dark. I loved its dramatic feel (in the theatrical sense).

I was completely shock during the second major scene, but I could tell the nurse maid (archetypal crone/witch) would have something in her basket. I really get a good picture of her in my mind.  Though, the Old King is most interesting character especially at the end. He’s the one whose decisions turn the plot. He challenged fate and lived to witness his consequences.   You must read it for yourself.

In one of those odd convergences of life, the son, Amal in this story has the same vibe as the petulant king Lionel in the audio book I’m listening to now. In the Accidental Sorcerer by K. E. Mills, the new King is also power-hungry and unwilling to take advice. I always think it is neat when this happens. Both violent brutes could almost switch places. Almost.

In a real world note: I never realize there were so may ways to actually make Blood Soup or so many foods in which blood was a main ingredient. Did I mention I also love books which inspire research!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses

  1. I love that quote you included at the beginning of your review. So true.

Leave a comment